Aziz Hazara wins the sixth edition of the Future Generation Art Prize – Announcements


Aziz Hazara wins the sixth edition of the Future Generation Art Prize


1 / 3-2, block “А”, Velyka Vasylkivska / Baseyna Str.



Tuesday to Sunday from 12 p.m. to 9 p.m.

T +380 44 590 0858

Aziz Hazara (Afghanistan) is the winner of the Future Generation Art Prize 2021, the sixth edition of the world art prize for artists under 35, created by the Victor Pinchuk Foundation in 2009. The winner was announced by the international jury during of the online awards ceremony on December 8. Aziz Hazara received a total of $ 100,000: $ 60,000 in cash and $ 40,000 to fund their artistic practice.

An additional $ 20,000 was awarded among the winners of the special prizes Agata Ingarden (Poland), Mire Lee (South Korea) and Pedro Neves Marques (Portugal).

The winners were chosen by the distinguished international jury of the prize, composed of: Lauren Cornell, director of the graduate program and chief curator at the Center for Curatorial Studies, Bard College; Jacopo Crivelli Visconti, curator of the 34th edition of the São Paulo Biennale; Elvira Dyangani Ose, director of the Museu d’Art Contemporani de Barcelona; Bjorn Geldhof, artistic director, PinchukArtCentre; Shilpa gupta, artist; Ralph rugoff, director of the Hayward Gallery and artistic director of the 58th Venice Art Biennale; Eugene Tan, director of the National Gallery Singapore and the Singapore Art Museum.

Address young artists Victor Pinchuk, founder of the PinchukArtCentre and the Future Generation Art Prize, said: “No one can tell us better about this world than the great emerging artists, especially young people. You are able to express the future of this world much better than politicians. My conviction is that contemporary art is one of the most revolutionary forces in the world. This is why I think your role is so important. You can influence us and help us change this world. We can only survive if we change this crazy world with its very dangerous and unpredictable future. “

The jury unanimously awarded the Future Generation Art Prize 2021 to Aziz Hazara. Commenting on his victory, they said: “An exceptional and sophisticated multi-channel installation, Echo of the Arc stands as an ephemeral and irresistible monument in our present moment. The five-channel video artwork features five boys, one per screen, each photographed against the mountainous landscape of Kabul as they attempt to resist the wind while blowing a shiny plastic bugle – a gesture of remembrance and mourning that is duplicate an urgent call for attention to a perilous situation. In an original composition, their sounds compete with the wind and din of neighboring drones, alternately muffled then pierced, sliding in and out of a unified chord towards dissonance. The play conceals many paradoxes in a simple scene: the playfulness of childhood, the infinity of sorrow, the conquest of land and territory and the precariousness of the future. In a sense, the work identifies not only a forward-looking artistic trend, but a concern for future generations that was shared by many artists during this year’s Future Generation Prize. Addressing film, performance and sound, Bow Echo offers a striking time monument of resilience and hope for a geography that, for many generations, has remained under pressure from various forms of failing governance. At the same time, the play shows how artists continue to imagine complex independent modes of existence, even in the midst of seemingly endless conflicts.

All shortlisted artists will participate in the Future Generation Art Prize 2021 @ Venice collective exhibition organized by the PinchukArtCentre as an official collateral event of the 59th International Art Exhibition at the Scuola Grande della Misericordia.

The shortlisted artists of the Future Generation Art Prize 2021: Alex Baczynski-Jenkins (UK), Wendimagegn Belete (Ethiopia), Minia biabiany (Guadeloupe), Aziz Hazara (Afghanistan), Ho Rui An (Singapore), Agata Ingarden (Poland), Rindon johnson (WE), Bronwyn Katz (South Africa), Lap-See Lam (Sweden), Mud Lee (South Korea), Paul Meheke (France), Lindsey mendick (UK), Henrike naumann (Germany), Pedro Neves Marques (Portugal), Frida Orupabo (Norway), Andres Pereira Paz (Bolivia), Solar Therese (Spain), Trevor Yeung (China) and artist collectives Calla Henkel and Max Pitegoff (WE), Yarema Malachchuk and Roman Khimei (Ukraine), and Hannah Quinlan and Rosie Hastings (UK).


Comments are closed.